Warning: Undefined array key "full" in /homepages/30/d753268889/htdocs/clickandbuilds/SriLankaToursandTravelBlog/wp-content/themes/rima/functions.php on line 1309

Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /homepages/30/d753268889/htdocs/clickandbuilds/SriLankaToursandTravelBlog/wp-content/themes/rima/functions.php on line 1309

Warning: Undefined array key "full" in /homepages/30/d753268889/htdocs/clickandbuilds/SriLankaToursandTravelBlog/wp-content/themes/rima/functions.php on line 1310

Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /homepages/30/d753268889/htdocs/clickandbuilds/SriLankaToursandTravelBlog/wp-content/themes/rima/functions.php on line 1310
Historical and Honorable Places in Sri Lanka

Historical and Honorable Places in Sri Lanka

Hindu Temples

Hindu Temples

Temple of Sri Kailawasanathan Swami Devasthanam

Sri Kailasanathar Swami Devasthanam, or Kapikaawatha Shivan Temple as it is also called by its devotees, is the oldest Hindu Temple in Colombo. Dedicated to the gods Ganesha and Shiva, the temple has been around for over two centuries. It’s also one of the most beautiful temples in Colombo. The temple was built in Maradana, Colombo by a group of Indian Chetti traders known as ‘Thiruvilanga Nakarathar’ who moved to Sri Lanka for business two hundred years ago. In 1783 the foundation was laid within the lands of a Chetti trader known as Sri Veerapathran. This same trader also accepted the responsibility of finding the finances for the construction, and the construction work itself. As the group of traders were the foremost and richest people in Colombo at the time, they had no issues; and soon the temple was built. The ritualistic opening ceremonies took place in the proper manner and the Hindus of the era in Colombo started visiting the temple regularly. Today Kailasanathar Swami Devasthanum is one of the most popular temples in Colombo, with its devotees numbering in the tens of thousands.

Sri Muthumariamman Temple

Sri Muthumariamman Temple is one of the famous Mariamman temples in Negombo built in a facet clicking back to the styles of Dravidian architecture. The temple still remains in an old fashioned pose. The engravings of the granite architecture in the temple is what that holds a reputation to the Negombo Tamils there as one of the most powerful temples where pujas and offering made, provide benefits to the public.

Sri Munneswaram Devasthanam

Munneswaram temple is an important regional Hindu temple complex in Sri Lanka. It has been in existence at least since 1000 CE, although myths surrounding the temple associate it with the popular Indian epic Ramayana, and its legendary hero-king Rama. The temple is one of five ancient temples dedicated to Shiva in the region. The temple is located in Munneswaram, a village with mixed Sinhala and Tamil population situated in the Puttalam District of Sri Lanka. The presiding deity Siva is installed in the form of Lingam in the sanctum sanctorum. The Siva temple’s architectural details conform to what is written down in the Hindu scriptures known as agamas. The Siva temple faces east and has three pathways around it. A sacred pond is situated in front of the Siva temple and a Bo Tree stands by the side of it. The main sanctum and the structure above the sanctum are one of the largest in Sri Lanka.

Kathiresan Temple

Kathiresan Kovil situated in Bambalapitiya, Sri Lanka is a Hindu shrine of God Skanda. Rather than it is a Hindu temple a place to travel for everyone. In fact, the tourists never chuck up the Kovil reckoning the Tourism spots in Colombo, Sri Lanka. You have to take the Galle road from Pettah and get down at Bambalapitiya town. Travelers visit the Kovil and earn merits from God Skanda. There are 2 kathiresan Kovils namely new kathiresan Kovil and Old Kathiresan Kovil. Both are dedicated to the War God, Skanda (Murugan). In Deepawali season it gets crowded with light decorations. During the Tamil month of ‘Aadi’ (similarly months of July / August) ‘vel festival’ is started from the New Kathiresan Kovil (Sri Manikkavinayagar Kovil). The huge vel chariot (trident) proceeds from pettah to the New Kathiresan Kovil surrounded with a kawadi perahera. In fact, the Kavadi chariot is gain ground with Nada swaram (Flute) musicians. But this Kavadi chariot proceeds a day before the Vel chariot. Prenatally the chariots travel from Pettah to the temple at Kataragama.

Natha Devalaya

The Nàtha Devàla is located on the terrace, in front of the Palace complex of Kandy. Natha Devalaya is one of the Hatara Devale in the Kandy. It is said to have been in existence even before the Tooth Relic was brought to Kandy. The oldest extant structure in Kandy, it is said to have been built by King Vikramabahu III in the 14th century. The history of the worship of God Natha is not clear. The name ‘Natha’ literally means ‘no form’ and ‘no shape’, and is therefore generally associated with Lord Maitreya, the next Buddha. In the days of the Kingdom of Kandy, this Shrine is said have played an important role in the establishment of the royalty. The king was given his royal name at this shrine. The Bodhisattva Avalokitesvara, being worshiped as a curer of diseases, the tradition of distributing herbal preparations on New Year day was conducted here until recent times. Hence, Bodhisattva Avalokitesvara is also associated with the Natha Devale, Kandy. In the annual procession, the Natha Devale procession takes the pride of place among the Devale processions and follows just behind the Dalada Perahara.

Sri Muthumariamman Kovil

Muthumariamman Temple is a temple in Matale. The prefix “Muthu”, literally means “pearl”. “Mari” means rain and “Amman” means mother. The temple is dedicated to Mariamman, the goddess of rain and fertility. The land was originally part of a paddy field and was gifted by the owner in 1852. The current temple was built in 1874, funded by the Nattukkottai Chettiar. This temple is used by both Hindus and Buddhists. The temple was originally a small statue under a tree prayed to by the Hindu people but has been developed by the people in Matale. The main religious festivals including the chariot festival at the temple are celebrated during February or March.

Shri Ponnambalawaneswaram Kovil

This is doubly true for the capital city of Colombo which does not have many old Hindu temples. However, there is one temple dedicated to the Hindu God Shiva; which while not being too old, is still a peerless example of ancient Dravidian architecture. And that temple is Sri Ponnambala-waneswaram Temple. Sri Ponnambalawaneswaram is one only few solid granite temples still existent in Sri Lanka. The temple was constructed in the traditional style with black granite quarried from Veyangoda and with all the other materials locally sourced as well.

Buddhist temples

Buddhist temples




Angurukaramulla Temple (Bodhirajaramaya)

Bodhirajarama Maha Viharaya (Angurukaramulla Temple), the well-known Buddhist temple in Negombo is a popular religious center. It is mostly noted for its Buddha Statue which is over 6m in height and visible from afar. At the base of the statue is a large dragon head with an open mouth through which the Buduge (Shrine room) is accessible. The beautiful Budu Ge there contains fine sculptural works and paintings on the life of Buddha and Jathaka stories. Its Pilima Ge contains important Buddhist events in Sri Lanka as well as the life size images of all the Sinhala kings from Vijaya to Sri Wickrema Rajasinghe. Bhodhirajarama Viharaya attracts devotees from all over the country. Within the inner chamber is the statue of the Sathapena (sleeping) Buddha where devotees can come to place an offering of flowers and spend time in worship. Once the Shrine room is exited and one walks to the right there is another building which houses images of kings and queens from the Mahavamsa – A historical text containing almost two millennia of ancient Sri Lankan History. However the images and the inside of the building are in a decrepit state. Popularly known as “Angurukaramulla Temple” it is a must for all the Buddhist pilgrims who pass through Negombo.

Mahamevnawa Buddhist Monastery

Mahamevnawa Buddhist Monastery is an organization of Buddhist Monasteries of Sri Lankan origin established to benefit the spiritual development of human beings using the teachings of the Gautama Buddha. Its main monastery is in Polgahawela, Sri Lanka. Mahamevnawa monastery for Buddhist Nuns is called Mahamevnawa Anagarika Monastery. Currently there are 6 Anagarika Monasteries of Mahamevnawa. About 100 Buddhists Nuns resident and practice Dhamma there. Mahamevnawa monasteries promote teaching, discussion and practice of Dhamma in unaltered form, and that the first step towards cessation of suffering is getting to know Buddha’s teaching.

Asgiriya Raja Maha Viharaya

Asgiri Maha Viharaya is a Buddhist monastery located in Kamdy, Sri Lanka. It is the headquarters of the Asgiriya chapter of Siyam Nikaya, one of the two Buddhist monasteries that holds the custodianship of Scared Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha kept in Sri Dalada Maligawa, Kandy. Asgiri Maha Vihara traces its origin from the wanavasi sect of the Dimbulagala Forest Monastery of Polonnaruva. Currently 565 Buddhist temples in Sri Lanka functions under Asgiri Viharaya of Kandy. Asgiri Maha Viharaya was founded by Commander Siriwardhana on the instructions of Prackramabahu VI of Kurunegala (1305-1335 A.D.). Asgiriya monastery consists of, the “purana Viharaya” or the ‘old temple’, “Meda Pansala” or the ‘middle temple’, the “Aluth Viharaya” or the ‘new temple’ and the Gedige Vihara. Asgiri viharaya also consists of a recumbent Buddha statue carved out of Rock, which is thirty six feet in length and two ‘poya-ge’s, which are used as the assembly halls for the meetings of the monastic fraternity. One of the other historically important sites standing in the Asgiri Maha Vihara premises is the “Adahana Maluwa” or the Royal Cremation Ground of Kandyan kingdom.The viharaya had three maluwas or terraces, Uda maluwa (upper terrace), Meda Maluwa (centre terrace), Palle Maluwa (lower terrace). The cremation of the Royal family members were done at the Meda Maluwa, therefore the temple in the premises was known as the “Adahanamaluwa Gedige Viharaya”.

Gangaramaya Temple

Gangaramaya Temple is one of the most important temples in Colombo being a mix of modern architecture and cultural essence. The temple’s architecture demonstrates an eclectic mix of Sri Lankan, Thai, Indian, and Chinese architecture. It was established in 1885 by Venerable Hikkaduwe Sri Sumangala Nayaka Thera at a time when Buddhist and cultural resurgence were much needed as the country was under the colonial rule. The area that was once a swamp beside the Beira Lake, has now turned to be an iconic complex which consists of the temple, the assembly hall in the breath-taking lake and the vocational training institute. Earlier, devotees had to cross the Beira Lake on a boat in order to reach the then small temple which was converted to what is today by the Devundara Sri Jinaratana Nayake Thera, a pupil of Venerable Hikkaduwe Sri Sumangala Nayaka Thera who appointed him as the chief incumbent of the temple.

Seema Malakaya

The Seema Malaka is perhaps best known for its minimalist architecture designed by Geoffrey Bawa, Sri Lanka’s most famous architect and the much celebrated “father of tropical modernism.” Originally, almost 120 years ago, the Seema Malaka formed an integral part of the Gangarama temple where Buddhist monks were ordained. True to Bawa’s style, Seema Malaka offers austere open spaces devoid of flashy festoons. The temple is built on three over water platforms connected to each other and to the mainland by pontoon boardwalks. The temple’s signature blue-tiled roof, made from collected spindles and banisters with wooden finishes, reflects the architecture of the Kandyan era, the last sovereign kingdom on the island. Each platform has a coral-white enclosure with numerous seated Buddha statues placed on top displaying different ‘mudras’ (hand gestures). The temple is mainly for meditation and rest, rather than for worshiping. The Seema Malaka temple is an impressive space, meticulously maintained. When you’re there, all you notice is the water, the sky and the calm under the Bo tree. It’s definitely one of the better temples in Colombo for its natural aesthetics.

Thuparamaya Dagaba

Thuparamaya is an ancient Buddhist Temple in Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka. Located in the sacred area of Mahamewna Park, the Thuparamaya Stupa is the earliest Dagoba to be constructed in the island, dating back to the reign of King Devanampiya Tissa (247-207 BC). The temple has been formally recognized by the Government as an archaeological site in Sri Lanka. Thuparamaya, the oldest Stupa in Sri Lanka built after the introduction of Buddhism to Sri Lanka. The Thuparamaya, built by King Devanapiyatissa, enshrines the sacred collar bone of the Buddha. This relic, a gift from India, stands testimony to the cordial relations enjoyed by the then Sri Lanka ruler. The columns around the stupa were a part of the walkway that supported a roof which covered the sacred edifice. A very distinctive feature of the famed Thuparamaya is the vatadage, a dome-shaped construction which once held within it the stupa. Out of the estimated 176 pillars that used to stand in a circular pattern around the dagaba, over 30 can still be seen, some retaining the lotus-shaped crown and polished surfaces. A widely recognized element is the two guardstones on either side of the entrance. The name Thuparamaya is said to be derived from the words ‘stupa’ and ‘aramaya’ which denotes a monastic complex for monks. Archaeological excavations have revealed the ruins of an ancient hospital that had been in existence over 2,000 years ago. Artefacts such as medical equipment and remains of a latrine system have been discovered.

Siri Dhammakiththikarama Purana Viharaya

Kottawa Siri Dhammakiththikarama temple well known as Kottawa Maha Pansala is located about 16km East of Colombo city near the Kottawa town, Sri Lanka. This is one of the oldest temples in the area. This temple was founded in 1818 by the Most Venerable Mahabogoda Dhammakiththi Thera. At present the chief incumbent of Kottawa Dhammakiththikarama old temple is Most Venerable Ittapana Dhammalankara Thera and the deputy incumbent of the temple is Venerable Lelwala Dhammakusala Thera. Currently, this temple is endowed with extensive series of religious services for the benefit of the community in the area.

Sri Sunandharama Old Temple

In 1867 June 14, about ½ an acre of land was donated to honourable Bandaragama Dammananda Thero and all other Bikkus for their use by the people of Meewanapalana and Gurugoda (Buddhist) in a deed. (Saga satukota puja) In 1883 Built a monastry named “Mada Mukalana” temple and afterwards it is known as Sri Sunandaramaya. In 1887 A very beautiful vihara mandiraya was built by Meewanapalane Sumanatissa thero. After that the chief incumbent of Raigam, Salpiti, Hewagam Korale Reverent Mahopaddaya Saddarmma Kirthie Sri Sumanathiissa Wachiswara, did a great religious service with his greatest courage. The great service done by him The new two story sangawasa Very beautiful dana hall Very big and attractive Darma hall A very new chetiya, wells, ponds, Gantara kuluna, and other various fantastic scenes all around viharaya and it seems to be a beauty spot.

Sri Maha Bodiya

Lord Gautama Buddha is considered as the Greatest Human Being appeared on earth. The esteemed one achieved the eternal bliss of Samma Sambodhi or the Enlightenment, ending the continuous circle of Samsara, the existence. This wonderful event took place 2600 years ago seated with his back against under an Esathu tree by the river Neranjana in the Bodhgaya, India. As the ascetic Siddhartha attained the Sambodhi Gnana under the shade of the Esathu tree, this highly venerated tree came to be known as the ‘Bodhi’. The southern branch of this sacred tree in Bodhgaya was ceremoniously brought to Sri Lanka by Arahant Sanghamitta MahaTheree in 236 BC, with the patronage of Emperor Dharmasoka. King Devanampiyatissa planted this Bodhi tree in his Royal Park ‘Maha Meghavana Udyanaya’ in Anuradhapura, under the guidance of Arahant Mihindu Maha Thero. Since then, this highly sacred Bodhi comparable to the living Buddha dwells there shining with glory. The Sacred Bodhi tree is the oldest historically authenticated tree in the world, it has been tended by a continuous succession of guardians for over 2000 years, even during the periods of Indian occupation.

Temple of Tooth Relic

Jaya Sri Maha Bodhi is a sacred fig tree in the Mahamewna Gardens, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka. In the 3rd century BC, it was brought to Sri Lanka by Sangamitta Theri, the daughter of Emperor Asoka and founder of an order of Buddhist nuns in Sri Lanka. It is said to be the southern branch from the historical Sri Maha Bodhi at Buddha Gaya in India under which Lord Buddha attained enlightenment. It was planted in 288 BC, and is the oldest living human-planted tree in the world with a known planting date. Today it is one of the most sacred relics of the Buddhists in Sri Lanka and respected by Buddhists all over the world. The other fig trees that surround the sacred tree protect it from storms and animals such as monkeys, bats. In the Central Highlands, almost dead center in the little island of Sri Lanka lays Kandy City. The crown jewel of the city is the famed Sri Dalada Maligawa, also known as the Temple of the Tooth. ‘Maligawa’ literally translates to palace, and the temple is part of the palace complex. The entire complex is over three centuries old at least, and has seen many a king’s rise and fall. It has seen bloody wars and peaceful reigns and is one of the most historical places still standing in the island.




Red Mosque

Jami-Ul-Alfar Mosque (known colloquially as the Samman Kottu Palli, Rathu Palliya, Red Masjid or the Red Mosque) is a historic mosque in Colombo, Sri Lanka. It is located on Second Cross Street in Pettah. The mosque is one of the oldest mosques in Colombo. Construction of the Jami-Ul-Alfar Mosque commenced in 1908 and the building was completed in 1909. The mosque was commissioned by the local Indian Muslim community, based in Pettah, to fulfil their required five-times-daily prayer and Jummah on Fridays. The mosque’s designer and builder was Habibu Labbe Saibu Labbe (an unqualified architect), and was based on details/images of /indo-Saracenic structures provided by South Indian traders, who commissioned him. It is a hybrid style of architecture that draws elements from native Indo-Islamic and Indian architecture, and combines it with the Gothic revival and Neo-classical styles. Originally it had the capacity for 1,500 worshipers although at the time only around 500 were attending prayers. In 1975 the mosque, with the assistance of the Haji Omar Trust, purchased a number of the adjoining properties and commenced building an expansion to the mosque to increase its capacity to 10,000.




Thewatta basilica

For those who are not aware of what a Basilica is, it is important to understand the word’s origin. Basilica originates from the Roman language and was meant to describe a large Roman public building, usually a court of justice. When Christianity spread in the Roman Empire, forming Roman Catholic sect, and the term came to refer specifically to a large or important church given special ceremonial rites by the Pope. As it is, there are currently well over 1500 basilicas all around the world. Out of these, except for just a few major basilicas, the others are all minor ones. The Basilica of Our Lady of Lanka is a Roman Catholic Church with basilica status in Tewatte, Sri Lanka. Being thus in a somewhat distant suburb of Colombo, it comes under the purview of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Colombo and is a site of pilgrimage for Sri Lankan Catholics. The church is home to the venerated statue of Our Lady of Lanka. Our Lady of Lanka is a Roman Catholic Basilica in Thewatte, just outside the city of Colombo. One of the most unique characteristics of this Basilica is its atypical architecture that has elements taken from local culture. Our Lady of Lanka began its life in 1911 as a tiny chapel dedicated to Our Lady of Lourdes (Mary Immaculate), France. It was built by the local pastor Fr. A. Kieger and a few Catholic laymen, and was a part of the parish of Ragama at the time. Years later in 1917 another pastor of the chapel Fr. A. Collorec had a grotto built for Our Lady of Lourdes, with the assistance of some Catholic workers from Colombo. With time the place became more popular, as the local Hindus and Buddhists started attending the services as well. This led to the chapel being expanded into a church in the 1930s. On February 4, 1950 the cornerstone for the basilica was laid. Construction was done with great care and creativity for many years. It was completed in 1974, a year after Pope Paul VI endowed the church with the title of Minor Basilica. On February 6, 1974, the consecration of the Basilica and crowning of the statue of Our Lady of Lanka took place; making it the National Basilica of Sri Lanka. To this day it received tens of thousands of pilgrims annually, making it one of the most popular churches in the country.

St. Antony’s Church

St. Anthony’s Shrine is a famous Roman Catholic Church in the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Colombo. The church is located at Kochchikade, Colombo 13, and is dedicated to St. Anthony of Padua. The church is declared as national shrine. The church’s origins relate to the early Dutch colonial period when Catholicism was banned from the island with catholic priests carrying out sermons from hiding places. Fr. Antonio disguised himself as a local merchant, who found refuge with a local fishing community at Mutwal. According to local legends the community sought his help to stop the sea eroding their village and Fr. Antonio planted a cross and prayed at the beach, resulting in the sea receding and the community converting to Catholicism. The Dutch authorities then allocated him some land to carry out his sermons where he built a mud brick chapel dedicated to St. Anthony of Padua. Fr. Antonio is buried within the church. In 1806 the chapel was enlarged and in 1822 one of the members of the Congregation went to Goa and brought back a statue of St. Anthony, which still resides on one of the church’s altars. Construction of a new church commenced in 1828 and it was consecrated on 1 June 1834. In 1938 the church was improve and enlarged, with the addition of a chorister’s gallery, large wings on side, and a mission house and meeting room behind the main altar. The enlarged church was consecrated on 16 February 1940. A tiny piece of St. Anthony’s tongue is enshrined in a special reliquary which is located in a glass case together with a statue of the saint, at the entrance to the church.

St. Sebastian’s Church

The St. Sebastian’s Church, Negombo also known as St. Sebastian’s Church, Wella Veediya is a Roman Catholic Church in Negombo, in Sri Lanka. It is patterned on the Reims Cathedral in France, and is built in Gothic Style. Saint Sebastian is the patron saint of the city of Negombo. The church was designed by Father G. Gannon, parish priest of Sea Street. Although the foundation stone was laid by the Archbishop of Colombo, Pierre-Guillaume Marque, on 2 February 1936, construction was not completed until ten years later. This church is one of the many churches in Sri Lanka dedicated to St Sebastian who is considered a martyr in the Catholic Church history. His veneration is particularly celebrated seeking relief from epidemics. A festival called the “Feast of St Sebastian” is held every year here during the month of January. A tali drama narrating the Life of Sebastian used to be enacted here before 1950.

St. Mary’s Church

There is evidence prior to the 16th century of small groups of Christians in Sri Lanka, residing among traders from the Middle East and mercenaries from South India. Negombo has been given the name Little Rome due to the highly ornate Portuguese-era Roman Catholic churches such as St. Mary’s Church found in the township and because the majority are the Roman Catholics. The St. Mary’s Church, Negombo is landmark edifice, a Roman Catholic Church in the heart of Negombo. Its exterior surface is painted in pink colour. It is one of the largest cathedrals in Sri Lanka. St. Mary’s Church is located in the Grand Street in the center of Negombo. Negombo has been influenced greatly by the Christian faith from the time it was occupied by the Portuguese. It is often called “Little Rome” in view of the large number of churches in the city. Construction of the church was started in 1874 and completed, after a long gap, in 1922. The art and architecture of this church and a few similar other churches in Sri Lanka demonstrate the cultural amalgamation of the European practice with Sri Lankan art and architecture during the early years of the 20th century.

St. Lucia’s Cathedral

St. Lucia’s Cathedral is the seat of the Archbishop of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Colombo in Sri Lanka. The Cathedral is located at Kotahena, in the north east of Colombo, is dedicated to Saint Lucy. The 110 year old cathedral had humble origins in a small chapel of wood and Cadjan built by the Oratorian fathers in 1760 when Ceylon was under Dutch occupation. It traces its origins to a small structure for worship built during Dutch occupation. Named after the virgin and martyr saint St. Lucy, the cathedral is considered the oldest and largest parish cathedral in Sri Lanka. The facade rests on massive ionic columns and is adorned with seven statues. Silhouetted against the sky is the cross on the concrete lantern crowning the dome, the pinnacle of the cathedral. The interior of the cathedral consists of a row of ornate, larger-than-life statues of saints along the side aisles, sculptured and painted in minute detail; many of these statues were installed in 1924 by priest and artist Rev. Fr. J Milliner. Open confessionals of intricately carved dark wood are also placed along the aisles. On the left, in front of the sanctuary is a unique dark skinned statue of the Madonna called ‘Our Lady of Kotahena’, which is taken in procession during the annual celebrations. Altars of white marble are located in the transepts of the church with relics enshrined within them.

Madu Church

The Shrine of Our Lady of Madhu is a Roman Catholic Marian Shrine in Mannar District of Sri Lanka. With a history of over 400 years, this shrine acts as a centre for pilgrimage and worship for Sri Lankan Catholics. The site is considered as the holiest Catholic shrine in the island. The church has been a symbol of unity not just between Tamils and Sinhalese, but also between people of different religions, including Buddhists, Hindus and Protestants. Pope Pius XI granted the image of Our Lady of Madhu a Canonical coronation on 2 July 1924. Attendance for the August festival at times touched close to a million people before the outbreak of the Sri Lankan Civil War. The Dutch invasion and the persecution of the Catholic Church in 1670 led to 20 Catholic families fleeing from Mantai, along with the statue of Mary in that church, to a safer locale of Madhu. About the same time another 700 Catholics migrated from Jaffna peninsula into Wanni forests. When these two communities met in Madhu they installed a new shrine with the statue. In the year 1870 the new Bishop arranged an annual festival to be celebrated on July 2nd. But in recent years the August 15th festival draws the biggest crowds because it is one of the most hallowed days for Catholics, the feast of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary into heaven, and it comes during school holidays when entire families can make the trip.

Thalawila Church

Like all divine works, the shrine of Talawila began in a small way, it developed in spite of difficulties and in hostile surroundings. Then in God’s good time and against all human calculations, it sprang to fame as a rallying point of Catholic piety and a great national sanctuary. It is against a background of small beginnings, rapid progress, severe trials and joyous triumphs, that the history of the shrine of St. Anne at Talawila has been silhouetted by written records and authentic traditions. With the dawn of the 19th century the fame of St. Anne’s Church spread rapidly and in 1837 the foundation for a new church was laid by Fr. Pedro Caetano and in 1843 Fr. Pedro de Noronha completed the church. Fr. Froilano Oruna replaced him and introduced great changes to the church. The little Chapel dedicated to the Sacred Heart, where the Blessed Sacrament is revered with great honor was constructed in 1877. The dear old church has been the scene of God’s merciful love to His beloved children and His wonderful works on their behalf through the intercession of St. Anne, for 150 years.