Old Town Hall
Dominating the area known as Kayman’s Gate is the Moorish-style Old town Hall, which was built in 1873. The two-strorey building served as the premises of the Colombo Municipal Council for 65 years, after which it fell into disrepair and was used as a public market. In 1984, the building was restored and reopened as a municipal museum that is now largely defunct. Today, it is possible to climb the stairs to the second floor to see a reconstruction of a council meeting, with wax figures seated around a table. The western side of the building is lined by some picturesque fruit and vegetable stalls.
The adjoining wrought-iron market building houses industrial and municipal artifacts, including the first mobile library in Sri Lanka, a streamroller and old street signage.